Richard Pierce

Richard Pierce – author, poet, painter


Radio Stradbroke Sunday Sessions

Well, a mix-up in diaries meant I got to do my second solo show in this season of Radio Stradbroke’s Sunday Sessions, and the three hours just zipped by. I managed to play 39 tracks in 3 hours, 13 tracks an hour. Now that’s what I call music. Like I said on air “Radio Stradbroke – less talk, more music.”

Thanks as always to all who listened and sent messages through all sorts of social (and unsocial) media.

I can’t say I met anyone exciting walking there or back, nor that I observed a guerilla war between leaves and men. I can say, though, that the weather was gorgeous, and that I love the freezing cold when the sun is out and I don’t have to risk getting wet.

This afternoon I’ve put up some outside Christmas lights on the buddleia athe back of the house, chopped more things down in the drive, written 500 more words on what will now definitely be known as The Failed Assassin rather than 31 Days of Shade, and brought the washing in. Oh, and emptied the cat tray. Next things on the list are writing more words and putting up the podcast of today’s show.

Meanwhile, here’s the running order, with the durations of the tracks, just in case anyone’s as geeky as me and tried to plan running orders to the second. I think I only overran by about 90 seconds today. Good job there wasn’t a newsreader sitting there waiting.


00:04:22               Burning Brigantines – Married to the Sea

00:03:04               Marion – Sleep
00:03:58               Modesty – Love is Strong
00:03:36               Paramore – Ignorance
00:02:34               Ideal – Rote Liebe
00:02:24               Blood Command – Five Inches of a Car Accident
00:03:10               Knust Fot – Du e saa fin
00:01:43               The Arbeidsloese – Sweet Nicotine
00:04:51               PIL – One Drop
00:04:27               Missing Andy – The Way We’re Made (Made in England)
00:03:43               Billy Bragg – Never Buy the Sun
00:03:48               Frank Turner – Reasons Not to be an Idiot
00:03:37               Emily & Florence – Drumming Song
00:04:22               Emily & Florence – Solace
00:04:10               Jack Stevens – Camden Dollybird
00:04:11               Jack Stevens – Sweetheart’s Anniversary
00:03:23               Cathedrals & Cars – Leaving No Reminders
00:03:31               The Pilots – Somewhere
00:03:13               Example – Never ever getting back together
00:03:27               Hurra Torpedo – Total Exclipse of the Heart
00:03:14               Los Colorados – Hot ‘n Cold
00:04:39               Thirty Seconds to Mars – Bad Romance
00:03:29               Jessie J – Do It Like A Dude
00:04:16               Alex Clare – Too Close
00:04:41               RJ Productions – 526
00:03:19               Spetakkel – Kem Rokker
00:03:34               O-Zone – Numa Numa
00:02:34               The Grand Spectacular – Being a Dickhead’s Cool
00:03:22               Kaptein Sabeltann – Sjoeroeverne Kommer
00:04:26               Of Monsters & Men – Little Talks
00:04:29               The Waterboys – The Hosting of the Shee 
00:04:08               Arlie Mucks – (Yellow Light Means) Speed Up or Slow Down
00:04:05               Sound of Guns – Antarctica
00:05:16               The Beeds – Slumdog Millionaire
00:03:59               Nola Wren – Young
00:04:39               Emeli Sande – Read All About It
00:03:14               Billy Bragg – Brickbat
00:02:48               Ingrid Olava – Her Kommer Vinteren
00:03:20               Kaizers Orchestra – Hjerteknuser

Get notifications of new posts by email.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply